John S. Fitzpatrick, Q.C.

(902) 460-3420 (902) 463-7500
vCard Print
Practice Manager
Kensa Harris
"Our Mortgage Enforcement and Collections Team is dedicated to serving a diverse number of institutional lenders, insurers and individuals in a cost effective and expedient manner."

About John

John is an accomplished Partner at the firm, practicing in the areas of Mortgage Enforcement, Collections and Real Property. He is a past member of the firm’s Executive Committee and is the Team Leader for our Mortgage Enforcement and Collections Team.

John has over 30 years of experience and was appointed to Queen’s Counsel in February 2008. John has been included in “Best Lawyers in Canada” since 2012. He is a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, the 2014 Weldon Award for Unselfish Public Service and most recently received his Doctor of Civil Law, Honoris Causa from Saint Mary's University in May 2017.

John has been recognized for his involvement in a number of community organizations and charities. He is the past Chairman of the Board of Governors at Saint Mary’s University, a member of the World Wildlife Fund Canada Board of Directors, and Director of the Halifax International Airport Authority (HIAA).

Areas of Practice

John's Background

  • 1984: LL.B., Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • 1981: Bachelor of Arts, Saint Mary's University, Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • 2003 - Present: Partner, BOYNECLARKE LLP, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
  • 2000 - 2003: Partner, Cox Hanson O'Reilly Matheson, Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • 1991 - 2000: Partner, Waterbury Newton, Kentville, Nova Scotia
  • 1985 - 1991: Associate, Waterbury Newton, Kentville, Nova Scotia
Professional Memberships
  • Member - Nova Scotia Barristers' Society
  • Member - Canadian Bar Association
  • Former Per Diem Federal Crown Prosecutor
Community Activities
  • Director - Halifax International Airport Authority (HIAA)
  • Board Member - World Wildlife Fund, Canada
  • Chair - World Wildlife Fund Canada, Atlantic Advisory Council
  • Committee Member - Queen's Counsel Advisory Committee
  • Former Member of the Dartmouth General Hospital Foundation Transition Team
  • Former Chair, Board of Governors, Saint Mary's University
  • Former Chair of: Presidential Search, President’s Performance and Compensation Committee. Finance, Human Resources and Government/Corporate Affairs Committees, Saint Mary's University
  • Former Co-Chair, 2016 Annual Meeting, Canadian University Boards Association (CUBA)
  • Former Member - Saint Mary's University Capital Campaign Committee
  • Former Board/Executive Committee Member and Chair of Governance Committee - ABC Canada Literacy Foundation (ABC Life Literacy) Toronto, Ontario (2002-2012)
  • Former Vice Chair and Director - Nova Scotia PGI Golf Tournaments for Literacy Society
  • Former Liberal Co-Chair- 2000 Federal Election Campaign, Nova Scotia
  • Former President - Kings County Liberal Association
  • Former Secretary - Kings County Barristers' Society (1999-2000)
  • Former Vice Chair - Fundraising Committee, Apple Tree Landing Children's Centre (1997)
  • Former Chair and Co-Chair - Peter Gzowski Invitational Golf Tournament for Literacy (1995, 1996, 2004, 2005, 2006)
  • Former Board Member - King's County Big Brothers/Big Sisters (1987 - 1992)
  • Former Campaign Cabinet Member - Halifax United Way Campaign (2004)
  • Former Chair - Canada Pension Review Tribunal
  • Former Chair - Rogers Atlantic Radio Business Advisory Board (2004 -2007)
Awards & Honours
  • Doctor of Civil Law, Honoris Causa - Saint Mary's University (2017)
  • Bertha Wilson Honour Society (2016)
  • Honourary Gold "M" Saint Mary's University Students Association (2015)
  • Included in The Best Lawyers in Canada published by Best Lawyers® (2012-2018)
  • Weldon Award for Unselfish Public Service (2014)
  • Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012)
  • Appointed Queen's Counsel (2008)
  • Canadian Bar Association Community Service Award (2005)
  • Peter Gzowski Award (1995)
  • Canada 125 Medal (1992)